top of page

In the Light of Music | 26 Oct. 2019 | 7pm | The Hellenic Centre


W. A. Mozart: Sonata in C major, KV 330

M. Ravel: Sonatine

Fr. Chopin: Nocturne, Op. 37/1, Waltz, Op. 42, Polonaise, Op. 53

C. Stylianou: Twelve Preludes, Series I (2008-12), nos. 2, 4, 6, 9, 12

The High Commission of the Republic of Cyprus in the United Kingdom invites you to a piano recital by

Nicolas Costantinou. The artist will be performing masterpieces by some of the leading composers of the

past, as well as of contemporary Cypriot composer, Constantinos Stylianou. The performance begins with

the charming Sonata in C major by the Austrian composer, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Next is the bright and

transparent Sonata by the French composer, Maurice Ravel, a neoclassical work full of beautiful melodies

and contrasts in sound-colours and moods. Following will be three works by the Polish composer, Fryderyk

Chopin. The Nocturne in G minor has a lamenting and heartfelt tone throughout, with a prayer-like middle

section. The Waltz in A flat major has the character of a poetic dance and consists of five exciting themes

that are dramatically structured into a coherent and fascinating whole. The ever-so popular Polonaise, op.

53, known as “Heroic”, is daring, firm and grandiose. The performance ends with the presentation of five of

the Twelve Preludes by Constantinos Stylianou, which are inspired by various works of art by painters, such

as, Piet Mondrian, J. M. W. Turner, C. D. Friedrich, Gustav Klimt and Paula Rego.


Booking essential, please visit

bottom of page